Scathing Book Reviews of The Corrections, by Jonathan Franzen

Only on force on earth could stop the power that is Oprah, and that force is… Jonathan Franzen? Yes, it’s true! The author of The Corrections caused Oprah to pause her Book Club selections in 2001, after a string of less than enthusiastic interviews about being in “The Club”, capped by the comment “She’s picked some good books, but she’s picked enough schmaltzy, one-dimensional ones that I cringe, myself…” She restarted it after a few years, but Franzen stung her like few would dare. Many critical reviews of “the Corrections” stung right back:

Depressing – What was Oprah thinking?
…and:

“The Corrections”….sounds like the name of a prison band and it might be more fun!

…and:

I tried to hang in there with this one but by page 300 – I think after Alfred’s hallucinations with the turd – I just thought, you know what? Life is short… I didn’t throw my copy [across the room] but there were times that I actually yelled at it.

…and:

Franzen’s well crafted puppets take out their garbage, and his.

…and:

The great American Novel? Oy, is this country in trouble!

…and:

This is a book about a majorly dysfunctional family. Warning: do not read it before you go on a cruise.(Or maybe while on a cruise.)

…and:

The hype was better than this book. The worst episode of OPRAH ever videotaped is better than this book. The manual that came with my blender is better than this book.

…and:

I hold no ill will towards Jonathan Franzen, just what he wrote.

…and:

If you read for pleasure, don’t buy this book.

…and:

I had so looked forward into diving into a big, thick novel on the hilarity of family disfunction.

…and:

I suppose that I have to give the author credit for well developed characters, even if they are self-centered, self-obsessed, petty individuals that inspire nothing but contempt.

…and here’s someone who found that “Bad for Oprah” is not equal to “Good for Me”:

Acting on my long held idea that “any bane of Oprah’s is a friend of mine” I purchased the book. That was my first mistake.

Leave a Reply

