Scathing Book Reviews of Stranger in a Strange Land, by Robert Heinlein

Stranger in a Strange Land is probably both Robert Heinlein’s most famous work and catchiest title. But let me tell you, if you’re a young adolescent reading his famous juvenile science fiction novels and you come across this -old RAH can never be read the same way again. It’s not MY favorite Heinlein novel (I have a soft spot for Citizen of the Galaxy) and apparently, not these reviewers’ favorite either. Grok these Scathing Book Reviews of Stranger in a Strange Land and you’ll want to remain a Stranger to the novel

The repetition of the word “Grok” and “Groking” made me wacky. “I Grok You”, “That’s Grok delicious”, & “I feel Groky”. Get the picture.

…and:

Grok this: Rotten and inconsistent read. Waste of time.

…and:

In Stranger, people sat around and talked. Sometimes they had sex. A few people got killed by magic. NOTHING HAPPENS IN THIS BOOK.

…and:

Dated, Boring, Bad and the novel equivalent of “Barbarella”…

…and:

The time I spent reading this book is time out of my life I will never get back; do you “grok” that?

…and a three for the price of one review:

You know, this author never ceases to amaze me. I read Starship Troopers and though it couldn’t get much worse. Time Enough for Love proved me wrong. Then I started reading this “masterpiece” and was proven wrong once again.

…but perhaps most damning!!!:

Stranger in a Strange Land was the N’Sync of its time.

Leave a Reply

