The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, by Michael Chabon

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon made quite a splash when it was published in 2000. A serious author writing about comic books? Since the book was awarded the Pulitzer Prize, that was, to the literary world, the equivalent of making a silk purse from a sow’s ear. C’mon folks, comic books aren’t that bad if you take them on their own terms. Despite the book’s reputation, these readers found the book to be less than amazing:

. The author must have won the Pullitzer-Prize in a sweepstakes. Give me a break!

…and:

…this book needed editing like Britney Spears needs underpants.

…and:

I’d rather pull all my eyelashes out for fun than read this book. on a side note..maybe the movie will be better!?

…and:

…if florid writing, and purple prose, and adjectives and cliches are your thing, by all means click that shopping cart!!

…and:

The only reason I finished the book is so I could feel qualified to write a review, and express my distaste for the writing.

…and:

In a nutshell, Chabon took the movie Chasing Amy, stripped away the sharp dialogue and provocative examination of courtship and sexual politics and managed to walk away with a Pulitzer.

…and this reviewer, who says he hit the trifecta for not being able to appreciate the book:

I think the one big hindrance I had was that I am not an immigrant, I am not gay, and I don’t hate German people.

Leave a Reply

