Celebrity Detox, by Rosie O’Donnell

Even before you open the book, Celebrity Detox by Rosie O’Donnell your review for it is probably half-written. Rosie O’Donnell, formerly the “Queen of Nice” suffered a media backlash of biblical proportions. To her credit, rather than fighting the new media image she seemed to use it as an opportunity to reinvent her public image, allowing her to sustain her celebrity, rather than to fade. I’m not a Rosie hater, but I’m not a fan either. I’m more of a “Rosie Ignorer”, but you can’t ignore these scathing reviews:

Don’t buy this book. In fact, if you e-mail me, I’ll send you mine free.

…and:
Amateurish and vindictive, this is a disgustingly shallow wallow in the same sty of celebrity self-indulgence that O’Donnell professes to detest.

…and:

I AM SORRY BUT I THINK SHE NEEDS MENTAL HELP. I MEAN THAT IN A GOOD WAY.

…and:

It reads like some self-published, unedited Kinko kind of book one produces alone.

…and:

At one point, Rosie takes the entirety of America to task for the death of Anna Nicole Smith. . . because none of us stepped up to the plate and knocked some sense into her head! Too late to do anything about that (and Anna probably wouldn’t have taken my call anyway) so I’ll do the next best thing. Earth to Rosie: “Seek help immediately!

…and this reviewer, who found the book “colorful”, in a way:

She writes a lot about the ‘yellow’ things in her life; the things that make her happy and are positive forces…

Leave a Reply

