Scathing Book Reviews of The Davinci Code, by Dan Brown

The Davinci Code by Dan Brown is one of those books that jumps the literary fence into “pop culture phenomenon”, with the requisite movie adaptation and Cryptex for sale in Skymall. and was for a time, the only thing that people on airplanes seemed to read.

While it’s hard to take The Davinci Code’s premise seriously (and if you do, open up some history books please) to me it was a blasphemously fun read with enough plot twists to be enjoyable while without so many as to be annoying. However, these Book Reviews of The Davinci Code think it isn’t worth cracking open:

I can’t remember when I last read such awful prose. If you can stomache sentences like the following – “Everyone in the reception area gasped in wonderment at the sight of the half-naked albino offering the bleeding clergyman.” – then be my guest.

…and:

You know a book is bad when you can put it down with only 10 pages left.

…and:

Watch out Michael Crichton, you’ve got competition. With “Da Vinci Code,” Dan Brown rivals you for one-dimensional characters, preposterous plot and misogynistic flourishes. However, he does you one better with his crypto-paranoid conspiracy theories centering around the Catholic church and forays into third-rate art criticism.

…and:

I must say I am – what’s the word? Flabbergasted. Forty million copies sold and counting? This book is simply mediocre. The story is formulaic, the characters are cliches, and the prose is workmanlike at best…

…and:

The Da Vinci Code is really two different books pushed together. One of the books is awful and the other is unbelievable.

…and:

O, Draconian Devil, why on earth did I read this book? I also figured out why it’s a page turner–you can’t wait to turn the page to see whether the writing will improve. Really, the whole thing sounds like the Hardy Boys and the Keystone Copts, or Abbott and Costello Meet a Big Dumb Albino.

…and this review, which somehow makes me hungry for Mall food:

when I sat down to read it, I was ready to devour it. And I did. However, rather than the fine feast, the rarified treat, that I’d been promised, I found instead a food court that offered m.s.g. laden Lo Mein, soggy buns wilting beneath ketchupy barbeque:a grotesque, sloppy affair that left me feeling bloated, tricked and saddened

2 Responses

  1. […] August 25, 2008 by scathingbookreviews Angels and Demons by Dan Brown is the prequel to the book The Davinci Code.  However, the new Angels and Demons movie starring Tom Hanks is the sequel to the  The Da Vinci […]

  2. The Da Vinci Code is simply put the worst book I have ever read.

Leave a Reply

