Scathing Book Reviews of The Rules, by Sherrie Shamoon and Ellen Fein

The Rules, by Sherrie Shamoon and Ellen Fein is a “how to” book that I won’t ever need.  Why?  Because it is a collection of “Time Tested Secrets for Capturing the Heart of Mister Right”.  I’m gender handicapped on that one, and married.  I don’t even need to buy it to figure out how my wife caught me, because I was the one doing the chasing. (Awwww…..)

Anyway, dating books are often funnier than they are true.  One of the “rules” in this book is: “In an Office Romance, on all nonbusiness -mails, responding once for every four of his e-mails is a good rule of thumb.”  What the…? Here’s another one.  “Don’t return his phone calls.”  Huh?  Seems to me that this books title should be “How to End a Relationship”.  The readers that wrote these Scathing Book Reviews of The Rules would like to throw a penalty flag:

I’m a guy, and I’ve read it. It’s taught me how to avoid girls looking to follow the advice of some untrained pop-gurus.

…and:

By following these godforsaken rules I lost the love of my life. I’m not sure what I was thinking when I tried this book, but I’d like to warn others… The author’s of this book should be jailed. ZERO STARS!

…and:

This book will work. In the same way that overt promiscuity and misogyny will work. There are plenty of stupid jerks out there and following these rules will make you a magnet for them.

…and:

Do women with IQs above 35 actually believe this drivel? How does lying and manipulating one’s way through the dating process create a lasting and secure relationship? The only part of the Rules phenomenon that I liked was taken care of by the Department of Schadenfreude: co-author Ellen Fein’s husband left her, citing abandonment. Beautiful.

…and:

I’ve got to give this book one star for obvious reasons, but I do highly recommend it! The paperback version is relatively inexpensive, and you can’t put a price tag on laughter.

 
…and:

Quite possibly the cheesiest relationship guide available.

…and:

This book is one giant step backward into the dark ages. Why don’t we give up the vote while we’re at it?

…and this review from an incorrigible romantic:

I don’t understand why people hate this book so much. There’s nothing about our society- work, raising children, writing college papers, etc.- that isn’t infested with manipulation. Do you really expect a love between two people who are raised in our society to be any different?

2 Responses

  1. good i like this blog

  2. Haha. Thanks for this. Those reviews were truly hilarious

Leave a Reply

