Scathing Book Reviews of I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell, by Tucker Max

I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell by Tucker Max is a book I’m not planning to read.  Why?  Well, if you’re familiar with the Tucker Max Blog, you don’t need more of the same on dead trees, and further, I already know enough Assholes, and have acted similiarly on enough occassions, to read about adventures in Assholery. 

It’s interesting that some people are able to make careers from a public persona of being an Asshole.  For all I know, Tucker Max may in his “real” life be a good guy.  But when he’s “working” or at least writing about what supposedly has happened, his job is to be an Asshole.  I know of at least one person who got into the Tucker Max blog a few years back, and his characterization of her was fairly spot on, so I guess at least some of the time he’s telling the truth and not making it up for his blog. 

Being an Asshole at bars and public places is fun enough for awhile, but I hope for his sake he slows down one day and contains his Asshole behavior to his neighbors and in-laws.  The Scathing Book Reviews of I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell seem to wish Tucker Max would stick the book up his – oh you know what I mean:

 

I’m ashamed I even spent money on this junk. The only redeeming quality was that no one I knew saw me reading it on the airplane.

 …and:

Tucker Max is like Van Wilder: completely unentertaining and hasn’t figured out that what’s really cool when you’re 20 becomes really pathetic when you’re 30.

…and:

Anyone that would think this book is cute or funny should probably have a character assessment

…and:

If you’re more than a year out of community college, don’t bother.

…and:

The book is a lot like a drunk person…entertaining for a few minutes, then just annoying.

…and:

A shallow shell of a human being, Tucker will appeal to 15-23 yr olds with low critical thinking ability. If you like to read books, be sure you will not like this one.

…and:

Anyone buying this book knowing what it is about is a lunatic.

…and while this may be good advice, I don’t think anyone thinking of buying the book would make use of it:

If you want funny, Rabelaisian humour, try Jim Goad instead.

One Response

  1. […] scathingbookreviews wrote a fantastic post today on “Scathing Book Reviews of I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell, by Tucker Max”Here’s ONLY a quick extractI Hope They Serve Beer in Hell by Tucker Max is a book I’m not planning to read. Why? Well, if you’re familiar with the Tucker Max Blog, you don’t need more of the same on dead trees, and further, I already know enough Assholes, … […]

Leave a Reply

